My Vegan Food Diary – What I Ate Monday April 23

Many people ask what I eat now that I’ve been vegan about 2.5 years.  I’m not a fan of food diaries, however, I am keeping one this week because I’m slowly working on a book on how I went vegan for people interested in the health & happiness benefits of a vegan lifestyle.

This begins a diary of everything I eat in a week.  I’m not into counting calories but I think I eat around 2200 calories a day at least.  I don’t avoid fat or sugar at all.  As far as exercise, I walk at a moderate pace for about 30 minutes a day, about 3.4 mph on the treadmill at an incline of 10.  Sometimes I ride my bike on the weekends, no more than a couple of miles, usually to get stuff or run an errand.

I cook most of my food at home for two reasons.  1.) It’s cheaper.  2.) The array of vegan choices in restaurants is not great here in the Midwest.  I can usually eat much more nutritious food here at home; also, at home I don’t have to worry about cheese or bacon getting slipped into my order.

Morning:

1 Lucy’s gluten free cinnamon cookie (hubby bought them) and 1 Midel lemon snap cookie
Black tea, no sugar

Early afternoon:
Big bowl of peanut butter sauce broccoli, carrot, sweet red pepper stir fry over brown rice.

You can buy this yummy spicy green spread at any place that sells Indian food. The plain mint and plain coriander chutneys are also excellent.

Snack:
1/2 mint-coriander chutney sandwich: 2 slices of whole wheat bread spread with Swad mint-coriander chutney sandwich spread
3/4 cup coleslaw: fresh organic cabbage with sweetened-vinegared vegan mayonnaise (made on Sunday)

Through the day:
 Several big mugs of unsweetened Lipton orange herbal tea

Dinner:
3/4 cup coleslaw leftover from snack
other 1/2 of chutney sandwich
1 cup of curried tofu eggless salad: firm tofu, vegan mayonnaise, onion, carrot, and Indian spices (made on Sunday)

After work:
1 medium size mango an 5 strawberries, chopped, with 2 teaspoons of sugar
Small bowl of peanut butter stir fry, about 1 cup over 1 cup of brown rice

One thought on “My Vegan Food Diary – What I Ate Monday April 23

  1. This post is for anyone who thinks starving yourself is good–uh, why would you? If I ate less than this, I’d become a stick figure! However, when I wasn’t vegan, I did eat far less than the above, and the weight kept creeping on.

Leave a Reply

