Daily Vegan Lunch for 15 September, 2013: Kimdian Eggplant Tomato Masala

vegan indian less oil eggplant masala

INGREDIENTS:

1 Tablespoon oil

1 eggplant, roasted and peeled

4 fresh tomatoes, chopped roughly

1.5 cup sliced onion

1 tablespoon minced garlic (about 3 cloves)

SPICES

1 teaspoon mustard seed

1/4 teaspoon fennel

1 teaspoon cumin

1/2 teaspoon turmeric

1 teaspoon garam masala

hot peppers, to taste or hot sauce

Salt to taste

 

DIRECTIONS:

Why pre-roast eggplant?

I like to pre-roast eggplant because if you just fry raw eggplant, eggplant absorbs oil like there’s no tomorrow.  If I pre-roast it, I feel I have much more control over how much oil is in my final dish so I don’t end up with a gross oily pool.  As much as I like Indian restaurant cuisine, it usually has way too much oil for me, case in point the last time I ordered Indian cuisine.  I don’t like super-oily food because not only is it fattening, it upsets my stomach.

Poke holes in eggplant with a fork.  Roast whole eggplant on a cookie sheet in the oven at 400 degrees for one hour.  You can roast it for less time if you like a firmer eggplant.  Once the eggplant is out of the oven and cool, peel the skin off, chop it, and set it aside.

In the meantime, fry onion in oil on medium heat, add all spices.  Add tomato chunks, stir, and allow to cook while the eggplant roasts.  Once tomatoes are bright red and juicy (about 10 minutes) add the garlic.  Allow it to cook about 5 minutes.

Chop the peeled, roasted eggplant and mix thoroughly, serve with bread (I like toasted pita bread) or rice.

Leave a Reply

